Home Featured Posts District Spelling Bee Announces Winners

District Spelling Bee Announces Winners


Marquette01/30/12 – The 2012 Marquette Area Public Schools District Spelling Bee was held on January 24, 2012 at the MSHS Shirley Smith Little Theater.  Moderator for the competition was Tracy VanAbel, Administrative Assistant in the Education Department at NMU. Judges were Dianne Linn, retired MAPS Community Education Director and Tesse Sayen, MAPS Curriculum Support & Education Foundation Assistant.

Listed below are the winners at each grade level. All the students attend Bothwell Middle School. The 1st and 2nd place winners at each grade level will move on to the regional competition which will be held on February 21 at KI Sawyer Elementary School in Gwinn.  The 3rd place winner will serve as an alternate.


Grade 5                                                                        Grade 6

Sophia Bartlett                  1st Place                     Peyton Sides               1st Place

Jasmine Burke                   2nd Place                  Sarah Dahlstrom       2nd Place

Marlee Matthews             3rd Place                  Sandra French             3rd Place


Grade 7                                                                     Grade 8

Kathie Waters                    1st Place                  Ricky Vermeulen                1st Place

Adam Skendzel                 2nd place                 Mikayla Matthews              2nd Place

Taylor Havican                 3rd place                 Sydney Laakso                      3rd Place







Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here